George C. Y. Chiou, Ph.D.

//George C. Y. Chiou, Ph.D.
George C. Y. Chiou, Ph.D.2017-05-23T18:33:42+00:00

george-chiou-phdCo-Founder, Medical Advisor, Board Member

CTO George C. Y. Chiou, Ph. D., is professor and director of the Institute of Ocular Pharmacology and professor of neuroscience and experimental therapeutics at Texas A&M University System Health Science Center. He also is an adjunct professor of Surgery and Ophthalmology at Texas A&M University College of Medicine, an honorary/visiting professor of Peking University, China Academy of Chinese Medicine, Nanjing Medical University, China Pharmaceutical University, Jiansu Institute of Materia Medica and Nanjing Medical College of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

He was the founder and chief editor of the “Journal of Ocular Pharmacology & Therapeutics” from 1985 through 2004, the author of a book entitled “Ophthalmic Toxicology,” published in 1992 and 1999, and author and co-author of an additional 240 publications.

His outstanding contribution to the research and development of new drugs for eye diseases has resulted in approximately 30 patents and has been recognized and awarded with distinguished achievement awards in research by both Texas A&M University (1984) and National Taiwan University (1988). He also received the Chinese American Ophthalmology Society Pioneer Award (2004) and National Taiwan University’s Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award (2005).

More recently, he received an Outstanding Service Award (2005) and Excellence in Research Award (2006) from College of Medicine, Texas A&M University’s Health Science Center, and Patent and Innovation Award (2007) from the Office of Technology Commercialization, Texas A&M System.

An effective administrator, Dr. Chiou’s has served as both assistant dean and associate dean of the College of Medicine at Texas A&M University; member of the Texas Board of Optometry; member of Master Plan Advisory Committee of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; and consultant for Cooper Vision, Merck Sharp and Dome, Barnes-Hind, Houston Biotechnology, and Orbon Corporation. He was elected and served as president and trustee of the Association for Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics.